Ranger’s Oath (Fall of Radiance Book 1) by Blake Arthur Peel- BBNYA Book Tour

The barrier between worlds is broken. Only he knows the truth…
Magic has protected Tarsynium for a thousand years, shielding its people from being ravaged by bloodthirsty demons. When a young ranger’s apprentice named Owyn Lund discovers that the Arc of Radiance has been breached, he tries to warn anybody who will listen.
But legends aren’t supposed to be real.
When a village is mysteriously destroyed, rangers, mages, and rebels all point the finger, blaming each other for the demons’ brutality. However, Zara Dennel, a mage’s ward, has heard Owyn’s tale—and she’s inclined to believe him.
Together, they must prove that friendship is greater than intolerance, unity is more important than division, and that even the most powerful magic can sometimes not be enough.
Failure means the end of all things. A second—and lasting—Doom.
Experience the beginning of a thrilling Epic Fantasy series suitable for all ages. It’s perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas, and Brandon Sanderson.

I received Ranger’s Oath to read and review as part of the BBNYA 2020 competition organized by @The_WriteReads. As always, all opinions are my own and honest.

BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors.

If you are an indie author and wish to learn more about the 2021 BBNYA competition, you can visit the official website (bbnya.com) or our Twitter account, @BBNYA_Official, to learn more. If you would like to sign up to enter your book, you can find the BBNYA 2021 Author Sign Up Form here. Please be sure to read the terms and conditions before entering.

If you are a book blogger or reviewer, you can apply to be a part of BBNYA 2021 by filling out this form (also, remember to read the terms and conditions before signing up)!

BBNYA is brought to you in association with the Folio Society (with the most gorgeous book editions that I’ve had the pleasure to drool over) and The Write Reads.

I was fortunate enough to be able to read Ranger’s Oath for BBNYA 2020. I say fortunate because this book is a good one. Fast paced and a lot of fun, this was a good adventure to go on.

There are two points of view in this book. First there’s Owyn, a young ranger’s apprentice. I quite liked him. From the first, he’s an interesting character. He sees something that shouldn’t be possible: some sort of red-eyed demon. This happens pretty much right at the beginning of the book, setting the stage and showing the stakes. He was determined and serious, a no-nonsense sort of character.

Zara is a mage-in-training. She’s skilled. She’s smart. She’s a bit annoying. Taken alone, her personality would have soured me to the book a bit. However, as she and Owyn interact, it makes for a really cool dynamic and one that kept me reading. They balance each other out.

Owyn’s sighting of the demon at the beginning of the book is the first sign of a bigger problem: the Arc of Radiance has been breached and the magic that has shielded Tarsynium is no longer keeping anyone safe. It’s up to Zara and Owyn to save the day, if they can manage to work together.

Ranger’s Oath was very well written. The pacing was a bit slower at first, but it was simply to set up the rest of the tale. Once things get going, there isn’t a dull moment. Magic, high stakes, and rangers (how I love a good ranger!) make for a fun take on the classic fantasy tale.

I think the storyline is pretty straightforward, but that is in no way a bad thing. Sometimes a tale of good vs. evil is exactly what is needed. Author Blake Arthur Peel wrote a fantasy that is both entertaining and incredibly accessible to fantasy fans and fans of young adult novels in general.

About the author:


Blake Arthur Peel has been coming up with stories ever since he was a kid. He inflicted his scribblings on family members and friends throughout his youth, always drawing maps in the back of notebooks and daydreaming when he probably should have been paying attention. It wasn’t until he was out of college that he finally decided to get serious about pursuing his career as a fantasy author.

His favorite stories have always been about good conquering evil, about fantastic worlds and wondrous magic systems. The works that have most inspired him are The Lord of the Rings, The Dragonlance Chronicles, The Riftwar Saga, The Stormlight Archive, and The Wheel of Time, among many others. Blake was born and raised in Hemet, California. Nowadays, he lives in Tennessee with his wife and two sons.

Blake’s links: Facebook – InstagramWebsite

6 thoughts on “Ranger’s Oath (Fall of Radiance Book 1) by Blake Arthur Peel- BBNYA Book Tour

  1. Sounds like an interesting read.

    Reading your post also leaves me realising I’ve much to learn about bookish blogging and the community. My own blog is but a fledgling and I am still finding my feet.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for reading. And thank you for the compliment. I very much appreciate it!

        Like

Leave a Reply to Louise Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s